published at 23.11.2016, 17:04

1-2-3 for the BMW S 1000 RR at the Macau Grand Prix

The BMW S 1000 RR continued its dominance in the streets of Macau in China. The 50th running of the legendary Macau Grand Prix saw another 1-2-3 success for the BMW racers. Peter Hickman repeated last year’s victory and fellow Brits Michael Rutter and Martin Jessopp again joined him on the podium.

It is one of the highlights in the international road racing season – and it is a successful hunting ground for the BMW S 1000 RR: the Macau Grand Prix. This year, the legendary race through the narrow streets of Macau was held for the 50th time and, like last year, it ended with a sensational 1-2-3 result for the BMW S 1000 RR.

In total, 13 BMW racers tackled this famous road race, supported on site by the experts from BMW Motorrad Motorsport. The practice and qualifying sessions already showed that the RR would again be the bike to beat, and this continued in the race itself.

It was an exciting three-way battle at the front of the field, a battle of three BMW racers. The protagonists were last year’s winner Peter Hickman, his Bathams/SMT Racing team-mate Michael Rutter and Martin Jessopp ( BMW). In 2015 this trio secured a great 1-2-3 result for the RR in Macau, and again they dominated the race.

Hickman, Macau record winner Rutter and pole setter Jessopp were involved in an exciting fight for the lead, changing positions several times and soon building a huge gap to the rest of the field. After 12 thrilling and dramatic laps on the “Guia Circuit”, Hickman crossed the finish line as the winner, just 0.533 seconds in front of second placed Rutter. Jessopp followed in third place, just 0.122 seconds behind Rutter and 0.655 seconds behind Hickman. The dominance of this BMW trio was further proven by the fact that they had an advantage of 20 seconds over the rest of the field.

In total, six BMW S 1000 RR riders finished the race in the top ten. Places one to three on the podium went to Hickman, Rutter and Jessopp. Stuart Easton (GB) was sixth on another RR from Bathams/SMT Racing. Ian Hutchinson (GB / Tyco BMW) was classified eighth and Dan Cooper (GB / Dan Cooper Racing / CMS) completed the top ten, in tenth position.