Autodromo Nazionale di Monza

GALLERY MODULE, Flash PlugIn version 9 or later required.

The high-speed circuit in Monza’s Royal Park is one of the most iconic racetracks in the world. Turns like the “Parabolica”, “Lesmo” and “Ascari” are enough to send a shiver down the back of any motorsport fan. The “Autodromo Nazionale di Monza” was opened back in 1922 and has since hosted both car and motorbike races. Even today the remains of banked corners stand in silent testimony to the days when the original circuit included an oval. However, this has not been used since 1967. Monza is one of the real classics on the Formula One calendar, while the Superbike World Championship has been a regular there since 1990. BMW Motorrad Motorsport has particularly good memories of the circuit to the north of Milan. In 2010 it celebrated its first major milestone when Troy Corser claimed the team’s first podium finish. The team returned to the Monza podium in 2011 thanks to Leon Haslam.

The circuit is not particularly demanding from a riding point of view, but it does pose a real challenge for the bike. Top speed is key on the long straights and ultra-quick corners, making the bike’s performance essential. The track also features several stop-go sectors, meaning the brakes are tested to the limit, while the bike must also react well to steering input at low speeds. The first chicane is particularly slow and requires good acceleration. The correct braking point is crucial in the “Lesmo” curves, in order avoid losing time. Through Parabolica the tyres ride their sidewalls, making edge grip vital in order to ensure maximum momentum down the long straight.

Circuit info:

  • Length: 5,763m
  • Width: 11-12m
  • Corners: 10
  • Start/finish straight: 1,195m
  • Direction: clockwise
  • Superbike World Championship debut: 1990
  • Most successful riders: Troy Bayliss (6 wins), Fabrizio Pirovano, Carl Fogarty, Pierfrancesco Chili (4 wins each)


Autodromo Nazionale Monza
via Vedano 5
I-20052 Monza
Tel.: +39 (039) 2482212